[id|=item] .content { width: 500px; margin: auto;; }

Competition Finalists announced!

Open Competition 3 finalists.png

ORA Singers announces finalists for the 2019 ORA Singers Composer Competition.

After a rigorous adjudication process, ORA Singers has selected its first ever Composer Competition finalists in two categories, Open and Youth. Both Competitions launched in September 2018 with a call for scores, the Open Competition aimed at composers of any age and experience, whereas the Youth Competition aimed at pupils from non-fee paying schools who will receive specialist mentoring from a selection of ORA-commissioned composers. From the many applications received, 3 Open finalists and 10 Youth finalists have been selected to write a new choral work each, to be performed at the Competition Final Concert on the 27th of July, King’s College London. ORA Singers is delighted to be joined by their President for this exciting occasion, Stephen Fry, who will chair the Competition Adjudication Panel.

This years Open Competition finalists are named as Áine Mallon, Ben See and Joel Järventausta, who wowed the judges at all stages of adjudication and will proceed in the Competition to write a 5-7 minute new ‘reflective’ work based on a piece by John Taverner.

Alongside these exceptional composers, ORA Singers has identified 10 students from non fee-paying schools across the UK to proceed in the mentoring programme for its Youth Composer Competition. The 10 talented finalists will be mentored by an ORA Singers commissioned composers. Richard Allain, Kerry Andrew, Oliver Tarney, Kim Porter and Thomas Hewitt Jones have enthusiastically joined the programme this year to nurture the next generation of choral composers, and will begin the course of mentoring this month with their assigned new mentees. On top of this, the finalists will also attend a compositional workshop in London on Saturday the 18th of May, and will have the chance for their compositions to be tested in a public workshop with ORA Singers Blogger in Residence, Rory Johnston.

The Youth Finalists have been given a choice of works to reflect from, by Lassus, Lobo and Rebelo, and will have their works performed alongside the Open Competition Finalists’ at the Competition Final. The 10 chosen Youth Finalists are Louis Wild (17, Prudhoe Community High School), Hannah Beech (17, Loreto Sixth Form College), Emily Pedersen (17, St John Fisher Catholic High School), Edward Atkin (15, Millthorpe School), Laura Fitzgerald (17, Kesgrave High School Sixth Form), Joshua Wheldon (16, North Hykeham Joint Sixth Form College), Yuvraj Sethia (16, The Priory Academy LSST), Katie Styles (11, Wycombe Girl's High School), Ben Gilchrist (15, Pate's Grammar School), and Patrick Lappin (15, Lurgan College).

For further details on the 2019 finalists, please head to our Competition page.