Back to All Events

DESIGN SERIES #2 - The Music of Rome

  • LSO St Luke's, London (map)
NR 16-02-09 139.jpg

The second concert in ORA Singers' new DESIGN SERIES, where a different designer is asked to collaborate on each of nine concerts at LSO St. Luke's, creating a unique design around the musical programme and the fantastic space of LSO St. Luke's Jerwood Hall.

ORA Singers presents a programme inspired by Rome's rich catalogue of Renaissance composers who worked at the Sistine Chapel, from Palestrina to Ingegenri, Marenzio to Porta. The programme is book-ended by two choral classics, the iconic Allegri Miserere, and the modern masterpiece that is MacMillan's setting of the same text. As with all, ORA programmes, Renaissance works sit side by side with stunning modern reflections and text settings, including the world premiere of Edmund Finnis' Reflection on Improperium by Palestrina


Tickets not yet available, please check back soon.



Gregorio Allegri - Miserere
Cheryl Frances Hoad - Gaude Et Laetare
Marco Antonio Ingegneri - O Bone Jesu
Giovanni da Palestrina - Improperium
Edmund Finnis - Reflection on Improperium by Palestrina
Costanzo Porta - Pater Noster
Julia Adolphe - Pater Noster
Felice Anerio - Stabat Mater a 12
Gregorio Allegri - Christus Resurgens Ex Mortuis


James MacMillan - Data est mihi omnis potestas
Giovanni da Palestrina - Terra tremuit
Janet Wheeler - Terra tremuit*+
Luca Marenzio - Jubilate Deo omnis terra
James MacMillan - Miserere

* Denotes an ORA Singers commission
+ Denotes a world premiere performance